Risklytics vs Three: General Liability Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway presents general liability as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy, with an online quote; Risklytics is a licensed producer placing it with carriers wanting robotics and hardware risk.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

Risklytics describes $1 million per incident and $2 million annual limits as typical requests, plus specialist carrier placement for machinery around people. THREE offers a package quote.

What Are the Key Differences Between Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance?

Robotics and Hardware Carrier Appetite

Risklytics says machinery operating around people can make general liability placement difficult and that it places risks with insurers seeking robotics and hardware business. It does not name the issuing carrier publicly. THREE lists general liability within its combined policy but the reviewed record does not describe robotics-specific appetite. A hardware company should ask THREE to confirm the machinery class and carrier acceptance before relying on the broad line listing. [8] [8] [1]

Physical Injury Versus Product Performance

Risklytics describes protection when an outside person is hurt or their property is damaged, such as a demo visitor tripping or a falling bracket damaging customer equipment. It says financial loss from product failure belongs under Tech E&O instead. THREE's reviewed line listing does not spell out the same boundary. Ask both providers whether the loss scenario is bodily injury/property damage or a technology-performance claim, and which policy responds. [8] [1]

Requested Limits and Application

Risklytics says buyers commonly face requests for $1 million per incident and $2 million total per year, while clarifying these are typical asks, not guaranteed limits. It offers an online application and says no broker fee is added on top of premium. THREE provides an online package quote. Compare actual per-occurrence and aggregate limits and any package fees rather than treating Risklytics' typical figures as a firm offer. [8] [9] [2]

What Should You Confirm in Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask each route to identify the underwriter, robotics or hardware eligibility, per-occurrence and annual aggregate limits, and any fees. [8] [9] [1]
  • Confirm whether equipment damage, bodily injury and financial loss from product failure fall under GL, property or Tech E&O. [8] [1]

Provider coverage details

Risklytics

  • role: Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics General Liability Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Risklytics describes General Liability as responding when someone outside the company is hurt or their property is damaged, giving examples of a falling bracket damaging customer equipment and a visitor tripping at a demo, and says it does not respond to a customer's financial loss from a product failure (that falls under Tech E&O). Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Risklytics says buyers typically need this coverage at their first lease, customer contract, or on-site visit, and that landlords, customers and site owners require it before a client signs a contract or sets foot on site. Lines page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million per incident and $2 million total per year for this line, describing it as a typical requested limit rather than a guaranteed policy limit. Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Risklytics says this line “needs the right insurers” because machines operating around people make generic insurers wary, and that it places with carriers that specifically want robotics and hardware risk. Lines page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics General Liability Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • application: You start Risklytics General Liability Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents General Liability as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists General Liability among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for General Liability. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether General Liability will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for General Liability; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for General Liability; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Commercial general liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Commercial General Liability Coverage Form

    ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox · I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12 · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    About Risklytics: who we are

    Risklytics · “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts · accessed 2026-09-23

  8. 08
    General Liability Insurance

    Risklytics · Coverage line: General Liability; Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions · accessed 2026-09-23

  9. 09
    How pricing and broker fees work

    Risklytics · Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium · accessed 2026-09-23

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners