CFC vs Three: General Liability Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway includes general liability in its small-business Business Owners Policy and offers advisor help with quotes; CFC also pairs GL with property and lists casualty limits up to $6 million.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between CFC and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance?

Published Casualty Limit

CFC's brochure lists a casualty limit up to $6,000,000 for its property-and-casualty policy, with property limits shown separately. THREE's reviewed page names general liability within its Business Owners Policy but does not publish a comparable liability figure. Treat CFC's number as a stated ceiling rather than a guaranteed offer, and request the actual general-liability limit and aggregate from THREE's quote. [7] [1]

Combined Policy Scope

CFC describes its general-liability coverage within one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property, rather than as a standalone product on the reviewed pages. THREE likewise presents general liability as part of its combined Business Owners Policy. Compare both package structures and determine whether the liability and property sections have separate limits, deductibles or shared conditions. [6] [1]

Covered Claims and Business Appetite

CFC names bodily injury, property damage, personal or advertising liability, and several additional exposures, while favoring manufacturers, distributors, e-commerce, retail and non-manual professional services and ordinarily declining bars, nightclubs and manual contractors. THREE lists the coverage line but its cited material does not state comparable claim categories or industry appetite. Have both routes classify your operations and show applicable exclusions before choosing limits. [7] [7] [1]

What Should You Confirm in CFC and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask CFC whether the quoted casualty limit applies to general liability and request its applicable aggregate; ask THREE for each liability limit and whether it shares terms with property. [7] [3]
  • Have both providers confirm the classification, covered operations and exclusions for your industry, products and locations. [7] [1]

CFC describes bodily injury, property damage and advertising liability alongside a published casualty limit up to $6 million. THREE lists general liability in its Business Owners Policy, with quote terms to confirm.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Claims

    CFC · Specialty: "We've handled and paid tens of thousands of professional indemnity and general liability claims for businesses of all sizes" · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Property & casualty

    CFC · Our property & casualty products: Property & casualty tile description; downloads (brochure, application form) · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States

    CFC · At a glance; General liability; Bodily injury and property damage liability; Personal and advertising liability; Limits; What we love; What we ordinarily decline; Coverage enhancements · accessed 2026-09-23

  8. 08
    Commercial general liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Commercial General Liability Coverage Form

    ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox · I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12 · accessed 2026-09-16

Provider coverage details

CFC

  • role: CFC's reviewed pages describe general liability as part of one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property; they do not describe a standalone general liability product. Property & casualty product page and its product brochure; the page describes property and general liability as a single policy, not separate offerings.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed property & casualty page and brochure describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the risk for this product. Property & casualty product page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for this product would need to come from the quote or declarations.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: The general liability portion covers products and completed operations, pollution, tenants' legal liability, non-owned and hired auto costs, employee benefits liability and medical expenses. Brochure's "General liability" section; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: CFC says the policy covers legal costs and compensation for bodily injury or property damage claims from third parties, plus personal and advertising liability such as defamatory content, privacy violations and advertising copyright infringement. Brochure's "Bodily injury and property damage liability" and "Personal and advertising liability" sections.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: CFC's brochure lists a casualty limit of up to $6,000,000 for this policy; the property limit is published separately for the commercial-property side of the same product. Brochure's "Limits" section; the limit actually issued depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: CFC says it favors manufacturers and distributors, non-manual professional services, e-commerce sellers, retail stores, office premises and annual events policies, and ordinarily declines amusement arcades, nightclubs and bars, manual contractors, aviation and aerospace risks, tour operators, and tire re-moulders or re-treaders. Brochure's "What we love" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: CFC says it has handled and paid tens of thousands of general liability and professional indemnity claims for businesses of all sizes. CFC's claims page, "Specialty" section; a combined general-liability and professional-indemnity figure with no separate general-liability count and no independent audit.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents General Liability as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists General Liability among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for General Liability. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether General Liability will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for General Liability; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for General Liability; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners