Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Three: General Liability Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway bundles general liability in its small-business Business Owners Policy and offers quote help from licensed advisors; Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance lists primary GL for selected commercial classes and a $50,000 minimum premium.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance?

Primary policy features and bundled coverage

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance markets primary GL with contractor broad-form coverage and gradual-pollution features. THREE presents general liability as one component of its combined Business Owners Policy, rather than a separately identified standalone policy on the reviewed page. Buyers should compare BHSI’s proposed GL form with the exact THREE package terms and confirm which coverages and limits actually appear in the quote. [4] [1]

Minimum premium and sample issuing company

BHSI’s casualty guide sets a $50,000 minimum premium per policy. The declarations in THREE’s linked sample policy name Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. That sample identifies an insurer for the example form but does not establish who will issue a buyer’s policy. A smaller business should consider the BHSI floor and request the issuer’s name in the actual THREE quote. [5] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask BHSI whether the minimum premium applies and which endorsements are included. [5]
  • Ask THREE whether GL is included in your package and which company issues your policy. [1]

BHSI markets primary GL with contractor and gradual-pollution features and a $50,000 minimum; THREE lists GL inside its combined BOP, whose sample declarations name Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Casualty

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · US casualty product lines and features: Primary General Liability lines 10-34; Primary Products/Completed Operations Liability 35-44; Lead Umbrella and Excess Casualty 46-63 · accessed 2026-09-28

  5. 05
    Casualty Appetite Guide - U.S.

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · Casualty appetite PDF page 1: $50K minimum premium, GL/products/lead umbrella/excess lines, selected $10M excess capacity, placement forms and target/avoided classes; guide dated 2026-07-15 · accessed 2026-09-28

  6. 06
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Commercial general liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Commercial General Liability Coverage Form

    ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox · I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12 · accessed 2026-09-16

Provider coverage details

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

  • coverage: BHSI markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features and flexible limits in its product overview. BHSI US specialty commercial primary GL. Material limitation: These are overview features, not universal policy grants; forms and endorsements vary.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: The casualty guide lists primary GL forms and identifies commercial real estate, retail/grocery, financial institutions, construction and energy as target classes. US casualty appetite guide dated 2026-07-15. Material limitation: Guide includes classes to avoid and $50,000 minimum policy premium; acceptance is underwritten.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: BHSI’s casualty appetite guide sets a $50,000 minimum premium per policy and lists primary GL as an eligible line. Selected US casualty accounts under guide dated 2026-07-15. Material limitation: Minimum premium is appetite guidance, not a quoted price or guaranteed minimum for all products.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents General Liability as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists General Liability among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for General Liability. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether General Liability will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for General Liability; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for General Liability; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners