Baldwin vs CFC: General Liability Insurance

CFC packages general liability with commercial property, offers up to $6 million in casualty limits, and favors manufacturers, e-commerce, and non-manual services; The Baldwin Group focuses its stated GL audiences on professional firms and government contractors.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and CFC General Liability Insurance?

Package and Coverage Scope

CFC describes general liability as part of one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property, not as a standalone product in the reviewed materials. Its GL section includes products and completed operations, pollution, tenants’ legal liability, hired and non-owned auto costs, employee-benefits liability, and medical expenses. The Baldwin Group lists GL as a coverage option but does not publish equivalent grants or package structure. Buyers who want property and casualty together can ask CFC how the combined form treats each exposure; Baldwin’s proposal should be checked line by line. [3] [4] [8]

Published Limit and Business Appetite

CFC lists a casualty limit up to $6 million and favors manufacturers, distributors, non-manual professional services, e-commerce, retail, offices, and annual events, while naming several classes it ordinarily declines. The Baldwin Group identifies professional-services firms and government contractors but publishes no limit schedule. The CFC figure is a published maximum for the policy, not a guaranteed offer; confirm the applicable limit and whether the property side has a separate limit. [4] [8]

What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and CFC General Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask CFC whether your class is within appetite and how the $6 million casualty limit is allocated across GL. [4]
  • Ask The Baldwin Group for the proposed insurer, GL limit, and whether property is quoted separately. [8]

Provider coverage details

The Baldwin Group

  • role: The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for General Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: Baldwin identifies professional-services firms and government contractors as audiences for commercial general-liability options. The pages do not establish a particular organization’s placement eligibility. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: Baldwin lists general liability as a coverage option and, on its government-contracting page, a coverage consideration. It does not specify the insured operations, occurrence form, limits or exclusions of a buyer’s policy. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • services: Baldwin says its sector teams review coverage considerations and provide risk-mitigation expertise to help clients plan insurance programs. Those advisory services are separate from policy coverage. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • limits: The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

CFC

  • role: CFC's reviewed pages describe general liability as part of one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property; they do not describe a standalone general liability product. Property & casualty product page and its product brochure; the page describes property and general liability as a single policy, not separate offerings.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed property & casualty page and brochure describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the risk for this product. Property & casualty product page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for this product would need to come from the quote or declarations.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: The general liability portion covers products and completed operations, pollution, tenants' legal liability, non-owned and hired auto costs, employee benefits liability and medical expenses. Brochure's "General liability" section; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: CFC says the policy covers legal costs and compensation for bodily injury or property damage claims from third parties, plus personal and advertising liability such as defamatory content, privacy violations and advertising copyright infringement. Brochure's "Bodily injury and property damage liability" and "Personal and advertising liability" sections.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: CFC's brochure lists a casualty limit of up to $6,000,000 for this policy; the property limit is published separately for the commercial-property side of the same product. Brochure's "Limits" section; the limit actually issued depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: CFC says it favors manufacturers and distributors, non-manual professional services, e-commerce sellers, retail stores, office premises and annual events policies, and ordinarily declines amusement arcades, nightclubs and bars, manual contractors, aviation and aerospace risks, tour operators, and tire re-moulders or re-treaders. Brochure's "What we love" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: CFC says it has handled and paid tens of thousands of general liability and professional indemnity claims for businesses of all sizes. CFC's claims page, "Specialty" section; a combined general-liability and professional-indemnity figure with no separate general-liability count and no independent audit.company-reportedSource ↗

CFC’s combined policy lists expanded GL categories and up to $6 million in casualty limits, while The Baldwin Group does not publish buyer-specific limits or terms.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? · accessed 2026-09-16

  2. 02
    Claims

    CFC · Specialty: "We've handled and paid tens of thousands of professional indemnity and general liability claims for businesses of all sizes" · accessed 2026-09-23

  3. 03
    Property & casualty

    CFC · Our property & casualty products: Property & casualty tile description; downloads (brochure, application form) · accessed 2026-09-23

  4. 04
    Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States

    CFC · At a glance; General liability; Bodily injury and property damage liability; Personal and advertising liability; Limits; What we love; What we ordinarily decline; Coverage enhancements · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Commercial general liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Commercial General Liability Coverage Form

    ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox · I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12 · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management

    The Baldwin Group · GovCon customer/service description lines 21–33; GovTech collaboration, customer scope and coverage considerations lines 93–111; risk-mitigation service lines 113–118; accessed 2026-09-29. · accessed 2026-09-30

  8. 08
    Professional Liability Insurance & Services

    The Baldwin Group · Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. · accessed 2026-09-30

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners