Aon vs CFC: General Liability Insurance

CFC packages general liability with property, offers up to $6 million in casualty limits, and favors manufacturers, e-commerce, and non-manual services; Aon’s described GL work focuses on construction and infrastructure placements.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and CFC General Liability Insurance?

A project-advisory placement beside a combined CFC policy

Aon pairs construction broking with project risk advice to identify transfer and mitigation strategies. CFC describes GL inside a single Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property, with the same product also addressing pollution, hired and non-owned auto costs, and employee-benefits liability. Buyers should decide whether they want project-specific broking advice or a combined policy structure with adjacent liability protections. [1] [5]

Scope and stated casualty ceiling

Aon does not publish a buyer-specific GL limit on its construction page. CFC’s brochure gives a casualty limit up to $6 million, while publishing the property limit separately. That is a concrete starting point for a CFC quote, but does not establish the limit available to your business; ask Aon which market it can access before comparing price or capacity. [1] [5]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and CFC General Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Aon for the proposed insurer, limit, and whether any project-specific risk advice is included. [1] [5]
  • Ask CFC whether the $6 million casualty ceiling is available for your class and how GL shares or separates limits from property. [1] [5]

Provider coverage details

Aon

  • role: Aon says its global construction practice designs and places risk solutions and uses broking experience and a global network across construction insurance lines. For general liability, this is evidence of Aon’s brokered market offering; the page does not identify the insurer for a buyer’s placement. Aon’s global construction and infrastructure practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon describes its global construction and infrastructure practice as serving contractors, owners, developers, engineers, architects, designers, financiers and investors, and says it works with organizations of varied sizes and complexity. Audience described for Aon’s global construction and infrastructure practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon lists General Liability within construction liability and describes casualty protection for third-party bodily injury or property damage associated with negligent acts during construction or operations. A policy’s actual insureds, triggers, exclusions and conditions are not stated on this practice page. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon describes project risk-advisory services to understand project-specific risks and develop risk-transfer, management or mitigation strategies. It also describes a global construction team and market access. These are company-reported brokerage and advisory services, not coverage benefits. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

CFC

  • role: CFC's reviewed pages describe general liability as part of one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property; they do not describe a standalone general liability product. Property & casualty product page and its product brochure; the page describes property and general liability as a single policy, not separate offerings.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed property & casualty page and brochure describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the risk for this product. Property & casualty product page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for this product would need to come from the quote or declarations.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: The general liability portion covers products and completed operations, pollution, tenants' legal liability, non-owned and hired auto costs, employee benefits liability and medical expenses. Brochure's "General liability" section; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: CFC says the policy covers legal costs and compensation for bodily injury or property damage claims from third parties, plus personal and advertising liability such as defamatory content, privacy violations and advertising copyright infringement. Brochure's "Bodily injury and property damage liability" and "Personal and advertising liability" sections.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: CFC's brochure lists a casualty limit of up to $6,000,000 for this policy; the property limit is published separately for the commercial-property side of the same product. Brochure's "Limits" section; the limit actually issued depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: CFC says it favors manufacturers and distributors, non-manual professional services, e-commerce sellers, retail stores, office premises and annual events policies, and ordinarily declines amusement arcades, nightclubs and bars, manual contractors, aviation and aerospace risks, tour operators, and tire re-moulders or re-treaders. Brochure's "What we love" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: CFC says it has handled and paid tens of thousands of general liability and professional indemnity claims for businesses of all sizes. CFC's claims page, "Specialty" section; a combined general-liability and professional-indemnity figure with no separate general-liability count and no independent audit.company-reportedSource ↗

Aon pairs construction broking with project risk advice to identify transfer and mitigation strategies, while CFC describes GL inside a single Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property, with the same product also addressing pollution, hired and non-owned auto costs, and employee-benefits liability.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management

    Aon · Construction client audience and global placement role, lines 123–126; offering descriptions lines 135–156; coverage-area taxonomy lines 167–195; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Claims

    CFC · Specialty: "We've handled and paid tens of thousands of professional indemnity and general liability claims for businesses of all sizes" · accessed 2026-09-23

  4. 04
    Property & casualty

    CFC · Our property & casualty products: Property & casualty tile description; downloads (brochure, application form) · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States

    CFC · At a glance; General liability; Bodily injury and property damage liability; Personal and advertising liability; Limits; What we love; What we ordinarily decline; Coverage enhancements · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Commercial general liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Commercial General Liability Coverage Form

    ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox · I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12 · accessed 2026-09-16

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners