Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: General Liability Insurance

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance offers primary general liability to classes such as construction, energy, retail, and commercial real estate, with a $50,000 minimum premium; Aon brokers construction placements and project risk advice.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance General Liability Insurance?

Brokered construction program and primary insurer appetite

Aon’s global construction practice describes broking and placement across construction insurance lines for contractors, owners, engineers, and other project participants. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance directly markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features, and flexible limits. A buyer comparing these routes should distinguish Aon’s access to a placement from BHSI’s stated insurer product features, then identify the actual carrier in any Aon proposal. [1] [2]

Target classes and available limits

BHSI’s casualty guide names commercial real estate, retail and grocery, financial institutions, construction, and energy as target classes and sets a $50,000 minimum premium per policy. Aon describes a broader range of construction participants and does not publish a GL premium floor or buyer limit. BHSI’s stated minimum can matter for smaller submissions; ask Aon for the actual market and premium needed for your risk. [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance General Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Aon which carrier and contractor form it proposes, including pollution terms and limits. [1] [2]
  • Ask BHSI whether your exact class meets appetite and whether the $50,000 minimum applies to the quoted policy. [1] [3]

Aon’s global construction practice describes broking and placement across construction insurance lines for contractors, owners, engineers, and other project participants, while Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance directly markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features, and flexible limits.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management

    Aon · Construction client audience and global placement role, lines 123–126; offering descriptions lines 135–156; coverage-area taxonomy lines 167–195; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Casualty

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · US casualty product lines and features: Primary General Liability lines 10-34; Primary Products/Completed Operations Liability 35-44; Lead Umbrella and Excess Casualty 46-63 · accessed 2026-09-28

  3. 03
    Casualty Appetite Guide - U.S.

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · Casualty appetite PDF page 1: $50K minimum premium, GL/products/lead umbrella/excess lines, selected $10M excess capacity, placement forms and target/avoided classes; guide dated 2026-07-15 · accessed 2026-09-28

  4. 04
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Commercial general liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Commercial General Liability Coverage Form

    ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox · I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12 · accessed 2026-09-16

Provider coverage details

Aon

  • role: Aon says its global construction practice designs and places risk solutions and uses broking experience and a global network across construction insurance lines. For general liability, this is evidence of Aon’s brokered market offering; the page does not identify the insurer for a buyer’s placement. Aon’s global construction and infrastructure practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon describes its global construction and infrastructure practice as serving contractors, owners, developers, engineers, architects, designers, financiers and investors, and says it works with organizations of varied sizes and complexity. Audience described for Aon’s global construction and infrastructure practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon lists General Liability within construction liability and describes casualty protection for third-party bodily injury or property damage associated with negligent acts during construction or operations. A policy’s actual insureds, triggers, exclusions and conditions are not stated on this practice page. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon describes project risk-advisory services to understand project-specific risks and develop risk-transfer, management or mitigation strategies. It also describes a global construction team and market access. These are company-reported brokerage and advisory services, not coverage benefits. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

  • coverage: BHSI markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features and flexible limits in its product overview. BHSI US specialty commercial primary GL. Material limitation: These are overview features, not universal policy grants; forms and endorsements vary.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: The casualty guide lists primary GL forms and identifies commercial real estate, retail/grocery, financial institutions, construction and energy as target classes. US casualty appetite guide dated 2026-07-15. Material limitation: Guide includes classes to avoid and $50,000 minimum policy premium; acceptance is underwritten.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: BHSI’s casualty appetite guide sets a $50,000 minimum premium per policy and lists primary GL as an eligible line. Selected US casualty accounts under guide dated 2026-07-15. Material limitation: Minimum premium is appetite guidance, not a quoted price or guaranteed minimum for all products.company-reportedSource ↗

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners