The Hartford vs Three: Business Owner’s Policy

The Hartford offers an online BOP quote and reports customers paid an average of $1,687 a year; THREE by Berkshire Hathaway offers an online quote with licensed Small Business Advisors, and its sample policy names Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between The Hartford and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy?

Package components and add-ons

The Hartford says its BOP combines commercial property, general liability, and business-income coverage. It lists workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto, and data breach as absent from the base policy but available as add-ons, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. THREE markets a combined BOP but does not name its included components or optional lines in the reviewed product description. If you need these protections, request an itemized schedule from THREE and compare which additions remain part of the BOP versus separate policies. [6] [1]

Published cost and quote path

The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 per year for a BOP, while noting that actual limits and deductibles are set at quote or issue. It offers an online quote or a phone route. THREE directs prospects to an online quote with licensed Small Business Advisor help, but its reviewed record contains no comparable average price. Use The Hartford figure as a reference point only; compare actual quotes at the same limits, deductible, and business profile. [6] [2]

What Should You Confirm in The Hartford and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy Quotes?

  • Ask The Hartford which add-ons are available for your class and their effect on premium and limits. [6]
  • Ask THREE to list base protections, add-ons, and quote-specific limits and deductibles. [1]
  • Compare annual costs only after matching coverage and confirming whether add-ons are bundled or separate. [6] [1]

Provider coverage details

The Hartford

  • role: The Hartford's BOP bundles commercial property insurance, general liability insurance and business income (interruption) coverage into one policy, rather than requiring three separate policies. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The Hartford says a BOP does not itself include workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or data breach coverage, but these can be added on top of the base policy, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: The Hartford says a BOP fits a business that has a physical location, faces a possibility of being sued, or has assets that could be stolen or damaged, and can be customized for specific industries. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) for a BOP; the page does not publish standard coverage limits or deductibles, since actual limits are set at quote or issue. Company-reported average as of 2026-09-23; described on the page as an estimate, not a quote for any specific business.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: The Hartford offers an online quote flow for a BOP, described as customizable by adding coverages; buyers can also call a listed phone number to start a quote. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. Quote availability observed without completing a purchase.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given buyer's policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more of several listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. BOP page and Legal Notice as read 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents its Business Owners Policy as a combined product containing multiple business coverage categories. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE labels its combined product a Business Owners Policy and describes multiple business coverages in one policy. The reviewed product page does not establish the exact protections included in a particular quote or issued contract. Company's description of the U.S. packaged product; a product name is not a policy entitlement. The buyer's state-specific quote, declarations, and forms control.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Business Owners Policy will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Business Owners Policy; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Business Owners Policy; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

The Hartford describes property, general liability, and business-income coverage in its BOP, reports a $1,687 average annual premium, and lists optional add-ons. THREE also markets a combined BOP but does not publish a comparable price in its reviewed record.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Small Business

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance

    The Hartford · What Is Business Owner's Policy Insurance?; What Is Included in a Business Owner's Policy?; Additional Coverages You Can Add; Who Needs a Business Owner's Policy?; How Much Does a BOP Cost?; BOP vs. General Liability comparison · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    Legal Notice

    The Hartford · P&C writing-company table; statement that coverages may be offered by one or more subsidiaries of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. · accessed 2026-09-23

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners