Techinsurance vs Three: Business Owner’s Policy

TechInsurance reports a median BOP cost of $83 a month through a single online application; THREE by Berkshire Hathaway offers an online quote with licensed small business advisors.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between TechInsurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy?

Published fit and exclusions

TechInsurance says businesses typically qualify for BOP savings when they have fewer than 100 employees, earn under $1 million annually, operate in a low-risk industry, and use a small commercial space. It says the BOP excludes employee injuries, cyberattacks, business vehicles, and natural-disaster damage without an endorsement. THREE markets a combined BOP but the reviewed product record gives no equivalent eligibility thresholds or named exclusions. Compare your revenue and operations against TechInsurance’s published screen, then ask THREE to state its appetite and exclusions. [6] [1]

Price basis and quote support

TechInsurance reports a median BOP premium of $83 per month, with cost depending on property value, profession, limits, deductible, location, employees, and claims history. It offers one online quote application with licensed-agent help and says certificates are typically available the day coverage is purchased. THREE offers an online quote and licensed advisor assistance but does not publish a comparable median or timing in its reviewed record. Request matched limits and deductibles before treating a price difference as meaningful. [6] [2]

What Should You Confirm in TechInsurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy Quotes?

  • Ask TechInsurance whether your business meets its stated employee, revenue, industry, and space criteria. [6]
  • Ask THREE for exclusions, eligibility thresholds, and quote-specific limits. [1]
  • Compare annual premiums at matching limits and deductibles, and clarify certificate timing after bind. [6] [2]

TechInsurance says businesses under 100 employees, $1 million revenue, and in low-risk industries may qualify for BOP savings, and lists exclusions including cyber and employee injuries. THREE describes a combined BOP with quote-specific terms.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Small Business

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance – Compare Quotes

    TechInsurance · Why do you need a business owner's policy?; Eligibility requirements for a BOP; What is covered under a business owner's policy?; How much does a business owner's policy cost?; What is the difference between general liability insurance and a BOP? · accessed 2026-09-23

Provider coverage details

TechInsurance

  • role: TechInsurance arranges a business owner's policy (BOP) as a bundle of general liability and commercial property insurance sold at a discount versus buying the two policies separately, according to the company. Business owner's policy product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for a BOP. Business owner's policy product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • coverage: TechInsurance says a BOP covers property damage and business personal property, common third-party accidents (general liability), copyright infringement and defamation claims, theft and vandalism, and product liability claims, but excludes employee injuries, cyberattacks, business vehicles and (without an endorsement) natural-disaster property damage. Business owner's policy product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: TechInsurance says small businesses typically qualify for BOP savings if they have fewer than 100 employees, operate in a low-risk industry, earn less than $1 million in yearly revenue, and use a small commercial space. Business owner's policy product page, Eligibility requirements for a BOP section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: TechInsurance says its BOP policyholders pay a median of $83 per month, or about $990 a year, with the exact cost depending on business property value, profession risk, policy limits and deductible, location, employee count and claims history. Business owner's policy product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: You request BOP quotes online through a single application; TechInsurance says licensed agents can help tailor the policy with endorsements, and a certificate of insurance is typically available the same day you buy coverage. Business owner's policy product page.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents its Business Owners Policy as a combined product containing multiple business coverage categories. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE labels its combined product a Business Owners Policy and describes multiple business coverages in one policy. The reviewed product page does not establish the exact protections included in a particular quote or issued contract. Company's description of the U.S. packaged product; a product name is not a policy entitlement. The buyer's state-specific quote, declarations, and forms control.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Business Owners Policy will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Business Owners Policy; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Business Owners Policy; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners