Liberty Mutual vs Three: Business Owner’s Policy

Liberty Mutual refers small-business buyers to independent agents; THREE by Berkshire Hathaway offers an online quote with licensed Small Business Advisors to help, and its sample policy names Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-10-01

THREE’s online quote and licensed-advisor route applies to its overall small-business product and does not establish BOP availability for a particular applicant; Liberty Mutual directs BOP buyers to independent agents.

What Are the Key Differences Between Liberty Mutual and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy?

Quote Route and BOP Availability

THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help. Its source describes the overall THREE route; it does not establish whether a specific applicant will be offered a BOP or can bind that line through the general flow. Liberty Mutual identifies independent-agent distribution for its small-business BOP. If you start with THREE online, ask whether the resulting proposal is specifically a BOP; with Liberty Mutual, begin with an agent and confirm the offered line and insurer. [2] [4]

Package Description and Defined Protections

THREE presents its BOP as a combined product with multiple business coverage categories, while its product page does not establish which protections will appear in an individual contract. Liberty Mutual’s BOP description specifically names commercial property and general liability, with optional cyber or professional-liability additions. For a business comparing package breadth, use the declarations and forms to determine the actual components instead of treating category lists as included coverage. [1] [4]

What Should You Confirm in Liberty Mutual and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy Quotes?

  • Ask THREE whether its quote is for BOP and which coverage categories, issuing company, limits, and deductibles appear in its declarations. [1] [3]
  • Ask Liberty Mutual’s independent agent which optional additions are included and whether auto or workers’ compensation is quoted separately. [4]
  • Compare the named insured, property and liability forms, limits, and deductibles on the proposals. [3] [4]

Provider coverage details

Liberty Mutual

  • role: Liberty Mutual markets a small-business BOP through its retail business channel. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The page describes a BOP combining commercial property and general liability, with optional cyber or professional-liability additions; it distinguishes separate policies such as auto and workers’ compensation. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: The page positions the product for small businesses and refers buyers to independent agents; it is not evidence of a mid-market BOP or universal availability. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: Liberty Mutual directs small-business buyers to independent-agent distribution for this BOP. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.not-disclosedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents its Business Owners Policy as a combined product containing multiple business coverage categories. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE labels its combined product a Business Owners Policy and describes multiple business coverages in one policy. The reviewed product page does not establish the exact protections included in a particular quote or issued contract. Company's description of the U.S. packaged product; a product name is not a policy entitlement. The buyer's state-specific quote, declarations, and forms control.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Business Owners Policy will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Business Owners Policy; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Business Owners Policy; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Business owner's policy insurance

    Liberty Mutual · Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 21–45 describe a small-business BOP combining property and general liability, common coverages, and optional cyber/professional-liability supplements. Lines 53–55 identify independent-agent distribution; lines 113–121 distinguish standalone GL, BOP, commercial package policy and separate commercial auto, workers compensation, farm, and inland marine risks. This is the small-business retail offer, not a mid-market form or issuer-level disclosure. · accessed 2026-09-29

  5. 05
    Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Small Business

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners