Coterie vs Three: Business Owner’s Policy

Coterie Insurance's BOP is available only through appointed agents and brokers; THREE by Berkshire Hathaway sends small businesses to an online quote with licensed advisors to help.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Coterie Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy?

Eligibility and stated limits

Coterie’s brochure sets ceilings of 50 employees, $10 million revenue, and $1 million building property for its BOP; contractors have lower ceilings of 15 employees and $5 million revenue. Coterie also publishes per-occurrence liability choices from $300,000 to $2 million, with restrictions on the highest option for some contractor states and liquor-liability selections. THREE’s reviewed product page does not state comparable thresholds or BOP limits, so businesses near Coterie’s caps should request THREE’s eligibility and declarations before comparing. [4] [5] [1]

Agent access and package specifics

Coterie sells this BOP through appointed agents and brokers using SimplyBind, where an agent enters the business details and can quote and bind. THREE offers an online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor assistance. Coterie names property, liability, and business interruption in its base package, plus extensions such as accounts receivable and electronic data; THREE’s product description does not enumerate those extensions. The buyer should compare the issued schedule rather than assume matching package contents. [5] [2] [1]

What Should You Confirm in Coterie Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy Quotes?

  • Ask Coterie which employee, revenue, and property ceilings apply to your class and state, and confirm its issuing carrier. [4] [5]
  • Ask THREE for its eligibility limits and line-by-line limits in the quote. [1]
  • Compare Coterie’s named extensions with coverages and sublimits appearing on THREE’s declarations. [5] [3]

Coterie sets BOP eligibility ceilings of 50 employees, $10 million in revenue, and $1 million in building property for most businesses, with lower contractor thresholds. THREE markets a combined BOP and offers an online quote with advisor help.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers

    Coterie Insurance · Criteria Qualification (Employees, Revenue, Building Property); BOP Property Highlights and coverage extensions; BOP Liability Highlights and limit options; Mandatory Countrywide BOP Policy Forms list · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    What is a Business Owners Policy for a small business?

    Coterie Insurance · BOP definition; 'Cutting edge solutions' paragraph (admitted products in all 50 states, A-rated EXCELLENT carrier ratings); SimplyBind quote-and-bind steps · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Small Business

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

Provider coverage details

Coterie Insurance

  • role: Coterie distributes its BOP only through appointed agents and brokers, not directly to businesses; its SimplyBind platform lets an agent quote and bind a policy after entering the client's business name and address. Business Owners Policy page 'Ready, set, and bind' and 'How it Works' sections.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: Coterie says its BOP is an admitted product backed by an 'A-rated EXCELLENT' carrier rating, but the reviewed pages do not name the specific underwriting insurer for the BOP. 'Cutting edge solutions' paragraph on the BOP page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Coterie's BOP brochure sets qualification criteria of up to 50 employees (15 for contractors), up to $10M in revenue ($5M for contractors), and up to $1M in building property total insured value. BOP brochure 'Criteria Qualification' table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Coterie's base BOP combines commercial property, general liability, and business-interruption coverage, using the Special Causes of Loss form BP 00 03, and includes coverage extensions such as accounts receivable, business income from dependent properties, electronic data, and forgery or alteration. BOP page bundle description and BOP brochure 'Coverages Included In Coterie's Base Policy'.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: Coterie lists optional endorsements for the BOP including employment practices liability, hired and non-owned auto liability, liquor liability, equipment breakdown, employee dishonesty, and unmanned aircraft/drone liability (excluding hull coverage). BOP brochure 'Additional Coverage Extensions and Limits Available' and 'BOP Liability Highlights' lists.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Coterie's BOP offers liability and medical-expense limit options of $300,000/$500,000/$1,000,000/$2,000,000 per occurrence, with products/completed-operations and other-than-products aggregates set at two times that limit, and $5,000 in medical expenses per person; $2,000,000/$4,000,000 liability limits are not available for contractors in CA, CO, FL, NY, or TX, or when liquor liability is selected. BOP brochure 'BOP Liability Highlights' and 'Available Limits' table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: Coterie says agents confirm a client's business name and address, select an industry, confirm prefilled business details, then customize and bind coverage, all in minutes, and claims this is 75%+ faster than traditional processes. 'SimplyBind Experience' four-step walkthrough on the BOP page; speed figure is company-reported.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents its Business Owners Policy as a combined product containing multiple business coverage categories. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE labels its combined product a Business Owners Policy and describes multiple business coverages in one policy. The reviewed product page does not establish the exact protections included in a particular quote or issued contract. Company's description of the U.S. packaged product; a product name is not a policy entitlement. The buyer's state-specific quote, declarations, and forms control.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Business Owners Policy will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Business Owners Policy; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Business Owners Policy; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners