Chubb vs Three: Business Owner’s Policy

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway offers an online quote with licensed small business advisors, and its sample policy names Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer; Chubb underwrites its BOP directly, with agent placement or an online quote.

Montgomery Risk Partners prepared this library from Spot.Insure comparison research and underlying public records.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Chubb and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy?

Published appetite and quote scope

Chubb says its BOP serves small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue across more than 500 classes, including technology, healthcare, retail, manufacturing, and financial services. THREE’s BOP page markets a combined product but does not publish an equivalent revenue ceiling or class count. Chubb’s stated appetite gives a larger business a concrete eligibility screen; with either provider, ask whether your state and exact operations qualify before comparing premium. [4] [1]

Optional protections and related policies

Chubb names optional BOP enhancements including privacy and data breach, employment practices, equipment breakdown, water backup, and crime coverage. Its Total Account Solution also lists umbrella, workers’ compensation, auto, and management liability as coverages available from the same carrier. THREE’s reviewed page describes multiple categories in its package but does not identify these enhancements or related lines. Ask for the named endorsements and quote schedule to see which needs the BOP addresses and which require separate policies. [4] [4] [1]

What Should You Confirm in Chubb and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy Quotes?

  • Ask Chubb whether your revenue, industry class, and state fit its BOP appetite and which enhancements are available. [4] [4]
  • Ask THREE to itemize package coverages and state any endorsements included in the offer. [1]
  • Compare Chubb’s same-carrier add-on options with any separate policies in THREE’s proposal. [4] [1]

Chubb describes eligibility for businesses with up to $30 million in revenue and lists optional BOP enhancements such as data breach and equipment breakdown. THREE markets a combined BOP, while its product page does not establish what a particular quote includes.

Sources and records

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance

    Chubb · Chubb BOP Insurance Eligibility: up to $30M revenue, 500+ business classes; Chubb BOP Coverage Highlights: optional property and liability enhancements; Total Account Solution: umbrella, workers' compensation, commercial auto, ForeFront, Cyber ERM/DigiTech ERM · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Claims

    Chubb · 24/7 claims response; 2,000+ North America Claims Professionals; 93% of clients with a paid claim highly satisfied, based on 2022-2025 survey · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Insurance for Technology Companies

    Chubb · Commercial package insurance section naming BOP, Benchmarq and Customarq as Chubb's three package policy options for small and midsize businesses · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    Report a Claim

    Chubb · Email first-notice contacts, including Small Commercial [email protected]; phone, online and mail reporting options · accessed 2026-09-23

  8. 08
    Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Small Business

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

Provider coverage details

Chubb

  • role: Chubb underwrites its Business Owner's Policy directly, combining property and liability coverage into a single package positioned as the foundation of a small business's insurance portfolio. Chubb BOP product page; describes Chubb's own packaged small-business offering.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Chubb says its BOP is available to small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue across more than 500 business classes, including technology, healthcare, retail, manufacturing and financial services. Chubb BOP eligibility list; a specific business's eligibility depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Chubb lists optional BOP enhancements including privacy and data breach coverage, employment practices liability, foreign liability with kidnap and ransom, equipment breakdown, water backup and sump overflow, and crime coverage such as forgery and employee dishonesty. Chubb BOP coverage-highlights list; availability of any enhancement depends on the issued policy and state.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed BOP page does not publish specific coverage limits, sublimits or deductibles for the base policy or its enhancements. Chubb BOP product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-foundSource ↗
  • services: Chubb markets a 'Total Account Solution' that lets a BOP holder add umbrella, workers' compensation, commercial auto, ForeFront management liability and Cyber ERM/DigiTech ERM coverage from the same carrier. Chubb BOP product page; each added line is underwritten and priced separately.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: You can request a Chubb BOP quote online, or an appointed independent agent or broker can apply for a Chubb Appointment to place the policy on your behalf. Chubb BOP product page call-to-action sections for business owners and for agents and brokers.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: Chubb reports 24/7 claims reporting and a dedicated Small Commercial claims email address, and says 93% of policyholders with a paid claim from 2022-2025 were highly satisfied with their claim experience. Claims and report-a-claim pages describe claims handling across Chubb's commercial book generally, not exclusively for BOP; the satisfaction figure is a company-reported survey result.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents its Business Owners Policy as a combined product containing multiple business coverage categories. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE labels its combined product a Business Owners Policy and describes multiple business coverages in one policy. The reviewed product page does not establish the exact protections included in a particular quote or issued contract. Company's description of the U.S. packaged product; a product name is not a policy entitlement. The buyer's state-specific quote, declarations, and forms control.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Business Owners Policy will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Business Owners Policy; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Business Owners Policy; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Use this comparison as a starting point for a discussion about your business and its insurance needs.

Contact Montgomery Risk Partners